Losing the Baby Weight: Spaghetti Squash w Meat Sauce

SpaghettiSquashWMeatSauce

One of the steps I am doing to try and lose the baby weight is to eat low carb. Why low carb? I had gestational diabetes with all of my pregnancies and the doctor says I’m at risk to go full blown diabetic if I don’t lower my BMI. So sticking with the low carb diet the doctor put me one while pregnant with some tweaks. We mostly follow the Paleo diet, but have a cheat day on Saturdays (ohhh Saturdays). The Husband and I have been experimenting with recipes and here is what we went with tonight.

Spaghetti Squash with Meat Sauce

First prep and get the spaghetti squash roasting. Set oven to 350. Halve the squash, scoop out seeds, brush with olive oil and throw on some salt and pepper. Turn it cut side down on parchment paper covered baking sheet and keep it in the oven for about an hour. Meanwhile..

   Step1                                 IMG_0513

Harass babies and assemble the remaining ingredients! (sorry I kinda fail at measuring, so going by look/feel)  

Step3                                   Step2

Fresh Parsley, Rosemary and Basil from the planter box The Husband made this past spring. (Its pretty awesome, self watering and stuff, love it)

Chopped garlic and onions, olive oil

2 cans of diced tomato and a can of tomato sauce (I was outta sauce so used paste)

Mushrooms, salt, pepper, dried oregano

1 lb ground beef (or no meat, whatevs) oh and chicken stock (or wine)

Step4                     Step5

Next up, field requests for snacks, saute garlic and onions w some olive oil until lightly browned on a frying pan. While that is cooking put the diced tomatoes (with liquid) and paste/sauce in a big ole pot and heat up. Add salt and pepper. When the onions and garlic are ready throw them in w. the tomato concoction. At this point I realized my tomato pot was looking dry so I threw in some chicken stock to make it more sauce like. Wine can also be used. 1/2 wine in pot…rest in giant glass for Mama, but lots of carbs in wine, so I gotta skip it. But feel free to drink some for me!

             Step6                               Step8

Saute mushrooms, set aside in a bowl. Brown ground beef and throw in into the big tomato pot along with the mushrooms. Let it simmer for a good 10 minutes then add the fresh herbs. Keep simmering until ready to serve.

sTep9                      SpaghettiSquashWMeatSauce

Take out the spaghetti squash at 1 hour. Spoon into a big pasta bowl (well to be honest if I wasn’t doing this here, I would be spooning onto everyone’s individual plates, we don’t get all fancy very often at the 4boyslotsanoise house, but I’ll pretend to be domestic) Add sauce on top and yay! NOM. You can throw some parm shavings on top if you so desire.                                                                                                                            

And NOMNOMNOMs even from Charlie! Woohoo, high five, me! As a side treat I also toasted some pecans in the toaster oven with a dollop of honey, canola oil, sea salt and cinnamon. My favorite snack.

Pecans                NOM

Other dinners we did this week: Bun-less Burger w Bacon Apple Jam (courtesy of my friend Sarah) and a Fried Egg w Sweet Potato Fries, Sweet Potato and Beef Meatballs w. Marinara Sauce and Zucchini Sticks  and Lemon Caper Chicken and Roasted Butternut Squash. All great low carb yummy options!

So far to date:

Pounds Lost: 7 Lbs

Body Fat Lowered: 3%

Waist Inches Lost: 4 In (this dropped like a rock when I changed my diet and stopped drinking beer/wine, srsly like in a 3 week period)

Might even get to wear fitted shirts without Spanx to hide the muffin top soon!

3 thoughts on “Losing the Baby Weight: Spaghetti Squash w Meat Sauce

  1. Love your little helper there! Bravo for the weight loss I know that is not easy!
    I have type 1 diabetes was diagnosed when I was 38. My girl has type 1 and diagnosed when she was 2. I’ve always wondered what gestational diabetes was like while pregnant! I can image it was very scary!
    Bravo for the lifestyle change your spaghetti looks wonderful! I’m a health nut and always have been and love new ideas for low calorie low carb meals. Great post! Have a wonderful weekend! 😄😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

