Paleo-ish Snack: Toasted Pecans

IMG_3493

Oh Pecans, how I love thee! Although now I cannot have you in a pie…I will have you in a….(OK I cant think of a rhyme, so)…snack.  Yeah I love pecans. My favorite diet friendly snack. I have found that I like them even better when toasted with a lil deliciousness on them. Toasting completely changes the consistency and its glorious.

Assemble the ingredients! Pecans, Canola Oil, Honey, Cinnamon and Salt

IMG_3491

First I spray a pan with canola oil (please excuse the blackened pan…its been through a lot) and then spread the pecans out on it. Give them a spray as well.

IMG_3492

I then gather ’em up in the middle, give a light drizzle of honey (if I am doing this as a dessert then a lil more honey), a couple shakes of cinnamon (or a lot) and a light sprinkle of salt. Toss around. Then, toast in the toaster oven on Toast for 3-5 minutes or bake in the oven at about 375 for 5-7 minutes. Definitely keep an eye on them…they go from perfectly toasted to burnt with in like 30 seconds.

Last step NOMNOMNOMNOM…but watch out for rugrats…they WILL attempt to eat them all.

Oh and speaking of rugrats,  I must report a moment of great pride. Charlie asked me to put sauteed mushrooms on top of his mac n cheese. (Yeah they are not on Paleo, they are on the whatever they will honkin’ eat diet) He LOVES mushrooms. Such a ham.

IMG_3436

5 thoughts on “Paleo-ish Snack: Toasted Pecans

  1. These look sooooo goooooooood! Yummmmm! I LOL’ed at the “this pan has been through a lot…” Dude, who doesn’t have one of those pans/kitchen items?! I love this recipe. Send some over! 😀 I hope you’re having a great day, and Charlie is tooooo cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I eat these at least 3 times a week, sooo good! Yeah…I dont think I have a single pan that doesn’t look like its been through war. Oh the joy of kitchen wars! 🙂 And I agree, Charlie is cute! Such a smiley guy

      Like

  2. Just thought I would put it out there that if you’re a spray can lover, they make coconut oil sprays which I suppose is a tiny bit more paleo 😛 Also I’m a fan of parchment paper for protecting my pans, though of course it adds up cost wise over time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

